Yameshwar Temple

This is a small temple built of soft sandstone. The deul and the jagamohana bear a close structural affinity with the Ananta-Vasudeva temple. There is a spacious courtyard with an imposing compound wall surrounding the temple premises.

Time and the elements have taken a heavy toll of this ancient temple. Now almost all its sculptures are gone. The recessed niches were once built to house the lingas.

Different deities guide all the different part of the dhama. In the eight directions eight forms of Durga are installed: Maricika (east), Vimala (west), Ardhasini (north), Kalaratri (south), Bata mangala (southeast), Lambha (northeast), Candarupa (southwest), Sarva mangala (northwest).